Compensation

About This HR Service

Compensation and Strategic Rewards partners with campus clients to deliver effective compensation and rewards programs tailored to advancing UCSF as an employer of choice. These programs serve as a catalyst for first-rate organizational performance by defining equitable pay and metric-driven rewards and incentives.

Compensation Philosophy
UCSF should strive to provide a total compensation package (salary and benefits) that allows us to recruit and retain critical talent in a competitive workforce market. UCSF’s pay range strategy is to align salary range mid-points with market median pay, with the goal of structuring individual pay, within each range, relative to consideration of varying levels of experience, education, and performance. In general, employees with limited to journey level experience and satisfactory performance should be situated below range mid-points and staff who possess senior level experience, exceptional skills, and superior performance should progress above salary range midpoints. Managing salaries of current staff to achieve these objectives is accomplished primarily using the merit and equity programs. Benefits programs are developed at the UC systemwide level.

Compensation and Strategic Rewards provides consultative, research, and analytical services in the areas of:

  • Organizational design, job evaluation, and classification
  • Equity review and salary setting
  • Reward and recognition program development
  • Policy and contract compliance
ArticleCategoryFamily
Equity ReviewClassification and Compensation
Focal Point Equity ReviewClassification and Compensation
Merit IncreaseClassification and Compensation
Classification of PositionsClassification
Additional Pay Approval & ProcessingPayroll Processing
Recruitment/Filling a Vacant Career PositionRecruitment
Requesting or Extending a StipendClassification and Compensation
ReclassificationClassification
MSP Physician and Dentist AppointmentsOnboarding
Name Title Phone Email
Kellie Beale Compensation Consultant 415/502-1217 kellie.beale@ucsf.edu
Marilyn Cimahosky Compensation Specialist 415/502-8747 marilyn.cimahosky@ucsf.edu
Emily Hong Compensation Specialist 415/476-4575 emily.hong@ucsf.edu
Sheila Lester Compensation Specialist 415/476-3050 sheila.lester@ucsf.edu
Crystal Morris Compensation Supervisor 415/476-2115 crystal.morris@ucsf.edu
Fanni Munoz Compensation Specialist 415/514-2461 fanni.munoz@ucsf.edu

3333 California St.
Suite 305
San Francisco, CA 94143

Phone: 415/476-3905
Fax: 415/502-2600

NEW: Department of Labor Updates to the Fair Labor Standards Act for Academic and Staff Employees


UCSF 2016–17 Salary Program

General Information and Timeline

Communications

Salary Program Administrator Toolkit
(Accessible by those who currently have Department Supervisor and/or HR access to the UCSF HR website – requires MyAccess login.)

Includes:

  • Job Aid Web Merit Tool Navigation for Department Users
  • Salary Planning FAQs
  • Merit / Focal Equity Presentation (PowerPoint slide deck)
  • Merit / Focal Equity Presentation (recording of May 9, 2016 webinar; 32 minutes, 30 seconds)

Archive
UCSF 2015–16 Salary Program




Resources:

Job Evaluation Matrices:

Recent Compensation Articles

Compensation Blog